Copyright © 2020 PGA Publishing 2020

Tate up for GMCA gong


Fame Tate, owner and director of Stanedge Golf Club, Chesterfield, is looking to cap off a memorable 2019 after being shortlisted into the final two for the ‘Newcomer of the Year’ at the 2019 GCMA Golf Club Management Awards.

In February this year, Tate purchased Stanedge, which closed in December 2018 and had lost all of its members. In just eight months she has transformed the facility into a thriving facility which now boasts more than 100 members.

The former Ladies European Tour player was named the PGA Female Assistant of the Year in April and she was also crowned winner of the ‘Outstanding Achievement’ award for the English Women’s-North Business Awards category.

“I am absolutely delighted to be shortlisted for the award and I feel incredibly proud of what we accomplished in a matter of months at the club and it is fantastic for this to be recognised,” said Tate.

“When I purchased the club, I had a strong vision, ambitions and aspirations of what I wanted to achieve in terms of the club as a whole. I wanted the club to thrive again in every aspect and I strongly believed that it had fantastic potential and could be achieved.

“My passion since retiring from professional golf has always been getting more people into golf by giving them the opportunity to learn and play but not only to recruit them but to retain them.

“As a business we have grown and developed massively over the last few months and we have had to move and change with it.

“We are constantly developing what we are doing at the club, to make Stanedge a better place for members and visitors.  For me it is more than just golf, we are providing people with an experience and building a new community and culture.

Karl Adams is also up for an award after being included in the ‘Manager of the Year’ shortlist. Adams is the general manager at Radcliffe-on-Trent Golf Club in Nottinghamshire and is about to commence on his PGA journey having recently joined the PGA Training Programme.


A full list of nominees:


Stephen Nicholson – Haydock Park

Heather Mulley – Enville

Karl Adams – Radcliffe-on-Trent

Adam Grint – Gerrards Cross



Kerry Alligan-Smith – Redditch

Fame Tate – Stanedge



Chigwell Golf Club – led by Ben Driver

Llanishen Golf Club – led by Martin Stevens